New Hope Baptist Church P.O. Box 955, Prison Camp Road Dobson, NC 27017

New Hope Baptist Church was organized in 1878 and a small church was built to serve the congregation. Some of the original members were J.H. Llewellyn, S.C. Boyles, J.T. Cox, S.E. Gentry, A.J. Williams, C.H. Stone, J.T. Marion, and W.E. Wright.

In 1905, a building committee, made up of C.C. Park, I.A. Park, W.H. Stone, and R.B Callaway, was appointed to head the construction of a larger church. The members worked and saved and in September, 1915, a contract was signed for this second church building. On September 22, 1934, the church voted to build Sunday School rooms and paint the exterior of the building. Labor was 25 cents per hour, the total cost of labor, paint, and other materials was \$229.44.

Another church building was built in 1953. A copper Bell Tower was added in 1958. Solid walnut chairs, tables and pulpit were added in 1960 and are still being used today. Memorial windows were placed in the sanctuary in 1963. Adjacent land was purchased in 1967 from Wayne Stone and Donna Stone Eldridge. In 1970, a picnic shelter was built and four years later enclosed to become the Fellowship Hall. Family pews were purchased in 1971. In February, 1973, the church voted to accept the contract of the New Hope Cemetery Fund from the I.A. Park heirs. A house and four acres of land was purchased from Mr. & Mrs. Troy Wright in May of 1973 to be used as the church parsonage. In 1975, Mr. & Mrs. Davis Lawrence donated the church organ. Air conditioning was installed in 1978. In May 1981, a baptistery was constructed in the sanctuary. The vestibule was enclosed with stained glass and doors installed in 1982.

On April 18, 1984, the church voted to establish a building fund. All 5th Sunday offerings would go into this fund. In 1993, the church contracted with Cogun Industries to build a new sanctuary, which would seat 330 people, and renovate the existing structure for Sunday School rooms. The cost would be around \$450,000.00. The new building was dedicated in June of 1994. Further projects included a Fellowship Hall in the basement of the new church, remodeling the old bathroom facilities, expansion of the parking lot and erecting a fence.

This major expansion program came at a large price, but the membership pulled together and embarked on a series of fund-raisers. Probably the best known of these is the annual BBQ meal, held each year on the Saturday before Easter. A church member, Odell Jenkins, raises the hogs and donates them to the effort. The entire church gets involved in the preparation, which goes on all night on Friday, the filling of plates, the drive-thru operation, selling of tickets, and delivery of plates. Another annual fund-raiser is the Fried Apple Pie Booth at the Dobson Berry Festival. The ladies do the cooking, but the men and boys are there to bag and pack the pies. Since we have such outstanding cooks, we published a church cookbook called *Cooking with Grace*. It is currently in its third printing, and we still get requests for it. These activities have not only provided us with the money needed to pay the church debt, they have brought us closer as a church family. God has truly blessed our efforts!

We have a very active WMU, headed by Annabell Hodges. They visit the sick in the community before each meeting. During the Christmas Season, they visit area Adult Care

facilities, bringing small gifts and singing carols with the residents. They also celebrate 'Christmas in July' at various nursing homes in the area.

Our Youth Committee has introduced the Mid-Week Meetings on Wednesday evenings for all ages of Young People. They take a group to Carowinds for the annual Super Summer Event for church groups each year. Vacation Bible School has been a continuing success, averaging enrollments of 100, and many children making professions of faith during the week. Each year, on Mother's Day Sunday, we have a Child Dedication Service, where families dedicate themselves to rearing their children in a Christian home. This is quite a meaningful ceremony for everyone involved.

This year we had the privilege of helping to send Annabell Hodges on a missionary journey to South Africa with a group from the Surry Baptist Association. She has shared her experiences with us since her return and we have begun gathering materials to send to a Youth Teacher who is working hard but has no teaching tools. We are looking forward to a group from South Africa visiting us this fall.

Our current pastor is Trent Lyons, who has been with us for ten years. We like to say that we raised him since he was so young when he came to us. He and his wife Carlene and children Josh and Ashley are just part of our family and we love them.

The Board of Deacons is headed by James Key. Other members are Odell Jenkins, Graham Lawrence, Mitchell Mayes, Warren Mitchell, Joey Tucker, J.D. Wright, and Billy Wright. Church officers and staff include Clerk: Frances Lawrence, Treasurer: Dorothy Mitchell, Choir Director: Frances Lawrence, Pianist: Barbara Smith, Organist: Peggy McCormick, Usher Board Chairman: Joey Tucker, Sunday School Superintendent: Marty Branch, Secretaries: Donna Tucker and DeAnne Haynes.

Our purpose, as a church, is to love God and serve Him and our fellowman. We have a very active Prayer Chain, which is used for urgent needs for both member and non-members alike. Our weekly Prayer List is printed in the Sunday Bulletin, and includes anyone who needs our prayers. We regularly have folks from different faiths, other states, whatever their need.

New Hope Baptist Church Pastors since organization in 1878:

1878-1891	J.H. Llewellyn	1944-1946	Fred Journey
1891-1902	A.J. Williams	1947-1948	Clifford Vestal
1903-1905	S.E. Gentry	1948-1951	Elmer Eldridge
1906-1908	A.J. Williams	1952-1954	Curtis Leftwich
1909-1910	C.H. Stone	1955-1957	Jess Woodruff
1910-1911	T.J. Marion	1958-1962	Roy Johnson
1912-1914	A.J. Williams	1963-1965	Orville Bledsoe
1915-1916	M.B. Phillips	1965-1967	Hobart Johnson
1917-1923	T.J. Marion	1967-1968	Clay Macemore
1924-1930	John W Callaway	1968-1971	John D Bowman
1031-1032	E.B. Draughn	1971-1974	Dale Jennings
1933-1939	Clete Simmons	1974-1987	Orville Bledsoe
1940-1943	David Day	1988-	Trent Lyons
)