Oak Grove Baptist Church

(A brief history of the origin and beginning of Oak Grove Baptist Church from 1893 through 1916. Compiled from old fragmentary records by E. M. Allen.)

On Saturday before the fifth sunday in July 1893, a meeting was held in Blue Ridge School House for the purpose of organizing a Baptist church. This was known as an arm or branch of New Hope Baptist Church, but was to be named Oak Grove Baptist Church.

H. J. Williams was named moderator and later became the first pastor of the new church and Tom J. Foister served as clerk. A Presbytery was called to serve this church and was composed of the following members: C. S. Davis, W. F. Melton and H. J. Williams.

We have no records of the meetings between 1893 and 1898. The first recorded meeting was in June, 1898 on Saturday at 2 p. m. before the first Sunday. After the sermon by the pastor the church clerk called the meeting to order. The business proceeded as follows:

- 1. Invitation for membership.
- Fellowship, peace and harmony prevailing.
- 3. Minutes read and approved.
- 4. Miscellaneous matters.

 No other business the church adjourned.
- J. H. Llewellyn, Moderator

Abram Ayers, Clerk

The first Sunday School report was on June 4, 1916. "Sunday school opened by singing, reading and prayer. After this, class was taken up. Teacher-1, Males-13, Females-12, Total-26, Collection-12 cents. N. E. Boyles, teacher, Carlyle Boyles, secretary."

One year later, 1917, classes were divided into three groups-A, B and C with Carlyle Boyles, assistant superintendent and Bland Freeman, secretary. N. E. Boyles was elected teacher for the advanced class. Collection 19 cents.

I have listed below a number of people connected with the church and Sunday School as members or interested in the development of Oak Grove Church. These names are from 1898 through 1917 as listed in old records:

Faye Snow, Jobe Simmons, R. T. Moore, Joseph Snow, Martha Cooke, Nollie Simmons, Ida Simmons, Carrie F. Parks, M. S. Goings, E. E. Haymore, Martha Simmons, Mary Key, Martha Key, Ella Boyles, Mary Phillips, Mary Snow, Stella Blevins, R. W. Boyles, Laura R. Boyles, C. W. Boyles, S. E. Boyles, Nannie Boyles, Carlyle Boyles, Glenn Boyles,

Maggie A. Blevins, Wayne Boyles, Ralph Joseph Boyles. Boyles, Boyles, Minnie Linda Jones, Lela Dickens, Sam Cooke, W. C. Hall, Lowell Hall, Fletcher Hill, W. C. Joyce, G. H. Snow, Bob Jones, William Beamer, Bland Freeman, Sara Freeman, Emma Beamer, B. A. Freeman, Rev. R. S. Park, Britton Haymore, Rev. J. P. Griffith, Gwyn Lynch, J. C. Lynch,

N. W. Johnson, Ivory Ayers, Abram Ayers, Alice J. Snow, Bertha M. Jarvis, R. J. Flinchum, Dora Matthews, Cora Moore, Daisy Snow, Amelia Ayers, M. J. Inman, Minnie Wood, Fannie Wood, Elizabeth Wood, Minnie Key, Virginia Hatcher, Betty Johnson, Daisy Snow, Fanny Mc-Craw, C. F. Sparter, Nellie Lynch, R. L. Snow, Mary A. Jarvis and Phillip Snow.

Interesting items taken from church minutes:

1. At the November

meeting the Finance members were reminded not to be asleep so near the end of the pastoral year.

- 2. From 1909-1912, Phillip Snow was church clerk.
- 3. Any member missing three meetings of church services would be required to state his reason or reasons for non-attendance. This was the year 1900.
- 4. The church voted to pay J. H. Llewellyn \$25 for his services for the year 1899.
- 5. The first trustees were named at the meeting in 1901.
- 6. At the May meeting in 1903, Gwyn Lynch and Phillip Snow, recommended as being in full fellowship by a sister church, upon motion were read into our Union.
- 7. During the August meeting in 1899 the church was asked to raise 40 cents for church minutes, also to raise \$3 for projects for the ensuing year.
- 8. Mark Jarvis donated logs and use of the sawmill from his farm to build a church house. The carpenters were Joseph Snow, Washington Wood, Phillip Snow and Columbus Snow. These are the men who constructed the first Oak Grove Baptist Church.

The names of pastors of the church through 1976 are as follows: A. J. Williams, Richard Stanley, Everett Draughn, J. A. Griffith, J.H. Llewellyn, D. D. Hodges, James Holder, R. S. Parks, C. H. Stone, L. B. Murray, Brady Snow, Somner Gentry, Lonnie Fleming, Ira Fergusson, Tommy Johnson, Cabot Inman, Glen Mendenhall, J. T. Blevins and Jessie Dennis.

The Rev. Jessie Dennis came to Oak Grove from Troy, March 1975 to December 12, 1976. After he left, interim preachers, Rev. Joe Crews and Rev. Walter Turner, served from January 1977 until August 1980. Under their leadership a constitution was written, adopted and later revised to include a Deacon Rotating plan.

The present pastor, Rev. Grady Trivette, from Union Grove, started his pastorate here August 24, 1980. Mr. and Mrs. Trivette have four sons. Since coming to Oak Grove, 13 new members have been added to the church membership.

June 23, 1979, groundbreaking ceremonies for the new church were held. The church will soon be completed.