File Churches

Mount Airy Church of Christ

The Mount Airy Church of Christ is located at 1180 South Franklin Road in Mount Airy. The Churches of Christ had their beginning in American in 1804 in Kentucky with Barton W. Stone and 1809 with Thomas and Alexander Campbell in Pennsylvania. By 1815, the Stone-Campbell movement had reached northwestern North Carolina.

At the request of the Piedmont NC District Evangelistic Board of the Churches of Christ, M.B. Miller, President and General Evangelist of the Appalachian Mountain Evangelizing Association, began work in Mount Airy on May 17, 1945, looking toward the establishment of a new Church of Christ in the area.

Preliminary meetings were held in the Moody-Nelson Funeral Home Chapel and then later at the home of Mr. and Mrs. W. E. Williamson. A lot was purchased adjacent to Highway 601 in the Highland Park community, and on June 27, 1945, the group began tent meetings at the site. On July 15, 1945, the Highland Park Church of Christ was organized with approximately 30 members. Also, on this date, the land was fully paid for, and a building fund was established. Construction on the building began in the fall of 1945, and the congregation moved into the structure in early 1946. There are no charter members with us now but have several children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren of some of those charter members.

By 1970, the church had grown to the point where the Highland Park structure was too small. The congregation voted in 1970 to begin construction of a new building on the South Franklin Road site. The church also changed its name from the Highland Park Church of Christ to the Mount Airy Church of Christ. The new structure, with fourteen classrooms, fellowship hall, nursery and large auditorium that seats 225, was completed in 1972 with the first service held in the building on the second Sunday of August of that year.

By 1991, we had grown sufficiently to expand again. Our Family Life Center was completed in October with a full-sized gymnasium, kitchen, bathrooms and exercise space.

Ministers who have served are M. B. Miller, 1945-1946; G. W. Headen, 1946–1948; Conley Greer, 1949-1950; Gene Sellers, 1951-1954; Joseph Craft, 1955-1957; Eugene Stiff, 1957; Gene Sellers, 1958-1960; Walter B. Brown, 1960-1961; Phillip Everett, 1961-1963; Hoyt Johnson, 1963-1965; Roger D. York, 1965-1968; Ned Mobley, 1969; Kermit Figart, 1969-1970; Wayne Williamson, 1971-1997 and Eddie Bowen, 1997 to present.

The Mount Airy Church of Christ currently has a membership of approximately two hundred members, four elders and ten deacons.

Written by Craig Meadows
Updated by Cleo Stanley